h1

back with a vengeance

December 21, 2006

After I brief hiatus, I have returned to the blog world. I needed a vacation. I know you missed me.

A salty list of unrelated bullets to bring us back. Nothing intense too soon.

-It’s been awhile since I read the Onion, which is unfortunate, because it’s pretty fantastic. My perverted rabbi friend passed on an article called Israel Bombs Anti-Semitism out of Lebanon. Brilliant, totally brilliant. Quote: ‘”After destroying much of our infrastructure and displacing nearly 1 million civilians, we’ve come to respect Israel as a legitimate power and a beacon of democracy, and not a pack of lying, usurping, hook-nosed dogs.”‘

-Next, on to Alternet, where Cristina Page explains that contrary to right-wing fundamentalist discourse on reproductive freedom, contraception and birth control have allowed pre-marital sex, which leads to fewer extramarital affairs, thereby strengthening marriages/families. Page explains:

the uptick in fidelity today is the result of a society that accepts our sexual urges as natural and couples that can look within marriage for fulfillment of desires once branded indecent.

OK, so I’m not sure what her sources are, but it’s a worthy argument and one that the pro-choice movement should take into account. It’s the fault of the anti-choice movement that the pro-choice movement has been branded “pro-abortion,” when in actuality, it’s really a pro-family movement. At least how Page sees it, anyway. I’m not sure how I feel about co-opting anti-choice language about saving marriage and families, but it might just be the only ticket to winning over the American public. (P.S. 95% of Americans have had pre-marital sex. Thank you, Feministing.)

-New to the blogroll: Gender 3.0., a refreshing, well-written, thought-out blog from a trans dyke in San Francisco. An excerpt from a post titled He’s a Dyke:

But I’m not a woman who refuses to accept her place; I’m not a woman — for me, personally, the word is irredeemably steeped in its connotations of motherhood and nurturing. (For this, I blame the Second Wave feminists.) The constitutive thrill of being a male-identified dyke is feeling like those prescriptions simply don’t apply. Problem is, femmes and other gender-savvy dykes tend to be the only ones who recognize this basic fact of masculine gender identity…

Thank you, thank you. I guess I can take identity politics when they’re not all “woe is me, my life sucks.” I look forward to lots of interesting posts.

-And finally, a Hannukah/birthday present for tragika in San Francisco. Seizure me elmo, coming to stores near you.

Happy Hannukah!

One comment

  1. God made me that way, thank you very much. – the perverted rabbi



Leave a Reply

