h1

bringing the recipes back

March 12, 2007

Were any of my current readers around when I used to post recipes? Well I’m bringing it back. The connection between recipes and the rest of my blog may not seem obvious but domesticity is a huge part of my femme identity. So with that…

I have been making a pot of soup every weekend, pretty much since winter started. My limitations: vegetarian soups that are sufficiently filling, containing no legumes. This has actually not been so difficult. Below is a recipe for a soup I made on Friday. I had a butternut squash sitting on my counter for weeks, looking sad and abandoned. This recipe is especially wonderful because it requires just one pot. Also, it’s a creamy soup with no milk of any kind.

Butternut squash soup with potato and leek

This is a variation of this recipe (meaning the recipe looked boring so I added many other things).

1 celery stalk, chopped
1 medium onion, chopped
2 leeks, chopped
2 tbsp. olive oil
1/2 tsp. thyme
1medium butternut squash, peeled, seeded, and cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1 fist-sized potato (I used Yukon gold but anything will work), cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1 whole fresh peperoncino or 3/4 teaspoon dried hot red pepper flakes (I used 5 or 6 of these wonderful dried jalapenos they have at the co-op)
2 teaspoons coarse sea salt
3 1/2 cups vegetable broth (I used a combination of veggie broth and water)
1 bunch parsley, rinsed and then tied in a little cheesecloth pack so you can remove it easily (you can also put your peppers in there too)
2 tsp. sea salt
1 tsp. curry powder (optional)
sunflower seeds

In your soup pot, heat olive oil on low heat, cook celery, onion, and leeks for 12 minutes, adding the thyme about 6 minutes in. Add squash, potato, salt, peppers, parsley, and water/broth. The ratio of solids to liquids will seem funny, but you can adjust that when you’re done cooking by adding more water. Cook for 30-40 minutes, remove parsley and peppers, and then blend the soup in your blender or food processor in batches, being careful of the hot hot hot. Return soup to pot. If it seems too thick, add more water. If the soup is not spicy to your liking, you can add some curry. (it will probably need more salt so you can add that too).

I always need something to break up the texture if a soup is totally smooth, so sprinkle each bowl with some sunflower seeds when serving. That’s all!

Next week I’m going to post a recipe for tahini dip that has been requested by many. I figure it’s easier to post here than to remember who to email it to.

2 comments

  1. Given that my blog is a cooking blog, it is probably no surprise that I love recipes.


  2. How do I find your blog?



Leave a Reply

