h1

fems take over the blogosphere

June 25, 2007

Joan Nestle has a blog! Rejoice! The first entry is about her first trip to Israel/Palestine and in true Joan Nestle fashion, it is a complicated and well-written piece. I can’t wait to see what’s to come. A snippet:

What finally pushed me to blog was my reading on my computer my daily New York Times–I now live in Melbourne, Australia with my lover–my reading of Thomas Friedman and David Brooks, these men of power who make huge pronouncements about how things should be in the world. I am not in their league, but I have stood with the Women in Black peace demonstrators in Haifa and Jerusalem, I have visited with women who run the Nazareth Women’s Center and its sister, the Haifa Women’s Center, I have met the women who founded ASWAT, the first human rights organization for Palestinian lesbians. I have seen Palestinian, Mizrachi and Ashkenazi Jewish, Christian and Ethiopian women meeting together in the same building. I have sat late into a Jerusalem night talking with a young butch-fem community, most of whom are peace activists, about how the body and its desires live in such a place at such a time. That night, our last in Jerusalem, one young woman said, “Come back to us when the occupation is over.”

One comment

  1. Hurrah!



Leave a Reply

